This is the second in a series of guest posts written by some of my favorite bloggers. To understand what this is about, you can read this post: http://bit.ly/90Sss3

This one in particular was written by my dear and hilarious, real life friend, Daniel Pacheco. He is an Advertising guy, Clinical Psychologist, Strategic Planning Director at JWT CCS and art / digital / music / people lover. Daniel may also be found on Twitter @Elcheko .

First of all I should clarify that I am not a blogger; although I would love to be one, I have not dared yet to confront this desire. There are thousands of spinning ideas in my head which I would like to freeze and translate into a piece of virtual paper, but I am still grappling with the idea of the great responsibility involved in keeping, feeding and making a blog grow; this is the very reason why I have not dared to buy a dog. Therefore, I will take the opportunity given to me by my dear friend Ana to experience the feeling of publishing a post, hope it is a harmonious experience that transcends and excites me as much as to make me build my own blog.

When I was invited by Ana to be a part of the place of dreams, it was her plea, her excessive virtual beg that convinced me and touched my heart; I could even see her tears incorporated into the direct message she sent me by twitter, so I agreed immediately and without hesitation to join this collective experiment to approach the concept of harmony and to recognize and reconcile the different points of view which several people who are “strangers” among them can have.

I wondered how should I deal with this nice and complex concept; I also wondered what was I going to eat for dinner tonight, because right now there is no harmony between what is in my fridge and what is in the storeroom. This is how I began to walk through the things I know best or that I have read more, which are psychology, advertising and the occasional recipe.

While none of the several theoretical models that comprise psychology refers explicitly to harmony, we can notice that it is an essential term in their development. As models of human behavior, they all explain and account for the principles of behavior. It is when we look at mental illness when we realize that what is not working correctly is just that which makes us behave in a harmonious and tight way. Specifically when reviewing the psychoanalytic theory, we can conclude that a disharmonious functioning of the components of the psyche (the id, ego and super I) facilitate psychopathology. Bellow, I define the characters:

• The id: the reservoir of psychic energy, the most primitive part of us which remains repressed, is the stripper and / or the voyeur in us all (no offense to those who are engaged in this beautiful profession), the home to the instincts of life and death, always pushing to leave at any time and to move our behavior in mysterious ways.

• The Super Ego: the home of morality, decency and ban, it is a policeman wanting to punish us when we go through a red light or rob a helpless old woman, it is the authority which holds power.

• The Ego: the mediator of the requirements of the two previous figures and the demands of our environment and our reality.

This is how these three gentlemen are the ones that govern our conduct; against this background, the importance of harmonious living between these characters is more than obvious. The disharmony between them makes us unpredictable and irregular, which is a clear sign of disease.

On the other hand, when reviewing advertising, another area in which the concept of harmony is not explicit, we notice it is also essential to creating good ideas and communication platforms for brands that want to connect with their consumers. We must always ensure that there is harmony and consistency between:

• The message created and the specific conscious and unconscious needs of the audience to which we target.

• The act of publicity and marketing processes of the brand (distribution, product quality, pricing strategies etc.)

Harmony between these elements will ensure the health and longevity of the product and brands advertised, while the imbalance would give us a “sick” brand, a brand that is not stable and / or predictable, unable to understand and connect with their consumers. We just have to review the communications and marketing strategies that have been implemented over time, brands such as Nike, Apple and Coca Cola among others, to realize its enormous success is due largely to the harmony of its communication strategies, constant, consistent and harmonious communication with their audiences and the advertising media used.

After confirming that harmony in different fields such as psychology and advertising, is a health indicator, the most important thing to note is that the harmony always involves a balance between the parties that form a whole, we see it in brands and of course, in people. Therefore, we must be very observant and very aware in order to identify the elements that make up this “whole” that interests us (a person, brand, design, building, ourselves, etc.) in order to balance them and achieve poise that makes this “whole”, able to live together in harmony with oneself and the world around it.

After these reflections I also noticed that harmony is also fundamental when cooking; the best dishes are those in which all ingredients coexist harmoniously. I am hungry. Now I leave you; I must go harmonize my dinner, and thank you Ana for sharing with me the place of dreams. I think I liked it.

