This is the seventeenth in a series of guest posts written by some of my favorite bloggers. To understand what this is about, you can read this post: http://bit.ly/90Sss3 

This one in particular was written by the talented Tabitha Ponte. She is an emerging architect who grew up in Caracas . artist  . educator . soprano . minimalist . modernist . blunt . iit grad student . @DESIGNSTUDIO26. She may also be found on Twitter @tabithaponte .

Harmony in

Architecture is the

Reverberation of

Moments that

Organize a

Network of

Interconnected and

Experiential

Spaces

.

Breaking it down, like when I was a kid. I used to break down my name, and other people’s names.

What is silly about the game of “breaking down” is that you can make it whatever you want. Good. Bad. Provocative, intelligent, or not.

When I think of architecture, and what it has become, there are so many things, so many types, so much poorly done (personal opinion) that at times I no longer find the harmonies. Instead I see that bad break down.

Truth is architecture is subjective to the viewer, not objective, so who says harmony is in existence?

Someone once said to me that architecture is good even if it creates a bad response… because it creates a response.

I cannot bring myself to believe this to be true.

For me “Harmonies” exist in all good architecture in the forms of connections, materials, or forms and adjacencies. Usually not all at once, but then again… subjective, right?!

Actually when, rarely, I find an extremely good building, harmony may be present in more than one form at once.

Calatrava, in example, creates a type of harmony with excessive scale and structure, but it is what has created an architecture perceived as good by the majority… unless you ask someone in Valencia.

Same with Gehry. Does Gehry really create harmony?… If you’re thinking yes… Are you sure about that?!… or is it that you think he does because you have been trained, over time, to relate Gehry to harmony-used spaces, per program as are music halls.

I see Gehry’s work and I see a disparate assembly of pieces… and mostly it does not make sense to me, as architecture. But is it art?… and is it harmounious art?… Subjective.

Because I see harmony in parts, and parts create a whole, harmony can directly be related to mathematics… where the fractions of a whole must exist, for the whole to exist. Harmonies therefore can be analyzed, complex or not, but ultimately must exist with others.

Harmony, whether in Architecture or Music (where it is mostly found), is truly a mathematical arrangement. Proportions, extensions, timing, recurrence, rhythms and such all must be taken into consideration, and all must be in place for harmony to exist.

Best example is the Golden Section. Can you analyze it mathematically? Can you break it down?… and is it not the most harmonious thing that we know in existence?…

